The 9 Best Air Compressors

REVIEWED AND RANKED IN CHESHIRE (UK) MAY 2018

After spending more than 72 hours interviewing DIYers and mechanics on the best features of a good and reliable air compressor, we then took 40 models that are available in the market and subjected them to rigorous tests. We concluded that the Wolf Dakota 90L Air Compressor is the best. It is powerful and comes with a large tank. 


At the other end of the spectrum is the Stanley Portable Air Compressor. It features a simple to carry design, is the most compact model on our list and also comes with a shoulder strap. Continue reading to discover 8 more air compressors that we found performed exceptionally well.

Read more
Of

Products Comparison

  • Core Detail
  • Technical Details
  • Pricing and Shipping
 Wolf Dakota 90L Air Compressor Review
96%
£289.99
read more
 ParkerBrand 50L Air Compressor Kit Review
92%
£129.99
read more
 Cobra Air Tools 50L Air Compressor Review
94%
£108.99
read more
 SIP (S.I.P) 06242 Airmate TN3.0/50-D Review
100%
£270.00
read more
 Bandit IV 8 Litre Air Compressor With Air Gun Kit
84%
£139.74
read more
 Wolf Air 24L Air Compressor Review
92%
£119.96
read more
 Cobra Air Tools 10L Air Compressor Review
68%
£119.99
read more
 Draper 24980 24L 230V 1.5KW Air Compressor Review
62%
£112.00
read more
 Stanley Portable Air Compressor Review
70%
£132.53
read more
.
Wolf Dakota 90L Air Compressor Review Top rated
ParkerBrand 50L Air Compressor Kit Review
Cobra Air Tools 50L Air Compressor Review
SIP (S.I.P) 06242 Airmate TN3.0/50-D Review
Bandit IV 8 Litre Air Compressor With Air Gun Kit
Wolf Air 24L Air Compressor Review
Cobra Air Tools 10L Air Compressor Review
Draper 24980 24L 230V 1.5KW Air Compressor Review
Stanley Portable Air Compressor Review Lowest price
Product Title weight Tank What we liked What we didn't like Binding Brand E A N Label Manufacturer Product Group Product Type Name Publisher Studio

Wolf Dakota 90L Air Compressor Review

96%

80Kgs

90L

Misc.

Wolf

5060367473133

Wolf

Wolf

Home Improvement

TOOLS

Wolf

Wolf

ParkerBrand 50L Air Compressor Kit Review

92%

35kgs

50L

Misc.

ParkerBrand

0714757926048

ParkerBrand

ParkerBrand

Automotive Parts and Accessories

OUTDOOR_LIVING

ParkerBrand

ParkerBrand

Cobra Air Tools 50L Air Compressor Review

94%

13kgs

10L

Misc.

Cobra

0706238683601

COBRA AIR TOOLS

COBRA AIR TOOLS

Home Improvement

TOOLS

COBRA AIR TOOLS

COBRA AIR TOOLS

SIP (S.I.P) 06242 Airmate TN3.0/50-D Review

100%

40kgs

50L

Misc.

SIP

5012713062423

SIP

SIP

Automotive Parts and Accessories

TOOLS

SIP

SIP

Bandit IV 8 Litre Air Compressor With Air Gun Kit

84%

20kgs

8L

Misc.

Clarke

5016086234807

Clarke

Clarke

Home Improvement

TOOLS

Clarke

Clarke

Wolf Air 24L Air Compressor Review

92%

29kgs

24L

Misc.

Wolf

5056109026644

Wolf

Wolf

Home Improvement

TOOLS

Wolf

Wolf

Cobra Air Tools 10L Air Compressor Review

68%

13kgs

10L

Misc.

Cobra

0706238684714

COBRA

COBRA

Home Improvement

TOOLS

COBRA

COBRA

Draper 24980 24L 230V 1.5KW Air Compressor Review

62%

26kgs

24L

DIY & Tools

Draper

5010559249800

Draper Tools Limited

Draper Tools Limited

Home Improvement

TOOLS

Draper Tools Limited

Draper Tools Limited

Stanley Portable Air Compressor Review

70%

9kgs

6L

Tools & Hardware

Stanley

8016738754438

Stanley

Stanley

Home Improvement

TOOLS

Stanley

Stanley

x
£289.92 more
£129.99 more
£99.95 more
£268 more
£138.69 more
£119.95 more
£119.99 more
£112 more
£86.65 more
want to see more show more

Product Reviews

1

Wolf Wolf Dakota 90L Air Compressor Review

96%

The Wolf Dakota comes with a large 90L tank. It also features twin cylinders which makes it quite powerful. We found that we could use this air compressor for the larger projects. We also liked the handle design. It is welded to the tank and could handle the weight.


We found the wheels to be sturdy and strong. This is a good-looking air compressor with a heavy-duty construction. For its size and power, we were surprised at how quiet it was.


The main downside that we found was that the Wolf Dakota is quite the heavy equipment. It is not easy to transport due to the size and the fact that it also doesn’t come with 4 wheels.

Read more
£289.92 from Amazon

*At the time of publishing the price was £289.99

2

ParkerBrand ParkerBrand 50L Air Compressor Kit Review

92%

What we instantly noticed with the ParkerBrand is that similar to the Cobra Air Tools 50L Air Compressor it comes with a strong and sturdy build. Like the cobra it has a large 50L tank that can store a lot of pressure. This makes it an ideal tool for working on larger projects.


We had a lot of fun using the compressor as we found it to be simple to use. It comes with an automatic on and off switch to regulate the pressure which means that there was always enough energy in the tank.


On the downside however, this is not the most powerful air compressor and failed to deliver enough pressure to use on tools such as the sander effectively. We also didn’t like the design of the handle as it doesn’t look very durable.


Read more
3

Cobra Cobra Air Tools 50L Air Compressor Review

94%

The first time we took a look at the cobra we were immediately hooked by the high-quality construction of the device. The tank was welded to the frame and seemed heavy duty. We also liked the design of the handle which we found was quite convenient at making the air compressor portable.


Speaking of portability, the wheels are thick and sturdy as well which allowed them to handle the weight. The large 50L tanks meant that it could contain enough air pressure to work on larger projects. We found this quite convenient as we didn’t have to keep running the equipment.


However, there was a downside as we soon discovered. The air filter is not the most durable part of the compressor. It is made from brittle plastic and could break easily. We also found the compressor to be a bit loud when running.


Read more
£99.95 from Amazon

*At the time of publishing the price was £108.99

4

SIP SIP (S.I.P) 06242 Airmate TN3.0/50-D Review

100%

This air compressor has a strong and durable construction. We liked the black exterior as well. It made the compressor look good. When we switched it on, we found the motor to be quite powerful and was very easy to use.


However, we didn’t like the quality of the air filters. They looked fragile and could break easily. We also didn’t like the design of the handle. It is welded on one side of the tank which means it is not as strong as if it was welded on the top.


Read more
£268 from Amazon

*At the time of publishing the price was £270.00

Of
5

Clarke Bandit IV 8 Litre Air Compressor With Air Gun Kit

84%

The Clarke bandit is even smaller than the Cobra Air Tools 10L Air Compressor. It comes with an 8L tank and doesn’t feature wheels as its small size makes it simple to carry. We liked the powerful motor as well.


Another feature that we liked was the automatic on and off switch. This was convenient to have since the compressor could regulate the amount of pressure in the tank. This means that it could turn on when the pressure got too low and back off again when it reached its upper limit.


One main drawback that we discovered was the connectors from the hose and the pin gun were not the same size which made using it a bit of a challenge. Also, the oil tank is not the best quality.


Read more
£138.69 from Amazon

*At the time of publishing the price was £139.74

Of
6

Wolf Wolf Air 24L Air Compressor Review

92%

For smaller sized projects we liked the size of the wolf air. Unlike the ParkerBrand 50L Air Compressor Kit, it comes with a smaller 24L tank which also made it simple to move and transport. The 2.5 hp motor is quite powerful for the size.


Similar to the ParkerBrand 50L Air Compressor, it comes with an automatic on and off switch which we found quite convenient as it could regulate the amount of pressure without us having to intervene. This air compressor has a good handle as well.


On the downside, we didn’t like the plastic cover on the compressor. It looked flimsy and didn’t seem like it would offer much protection to the motor. We also didn’t like the low quality construction of the crank casing.


Read more
£119.95 from Amazon

*At the time of publishing the price was £119.96

7

Cobra Cobra Air Tools 10L Air Compressor Review

68%

We liked the design of the cobra 10L air compressor. It looks high quality and durable. Another feature that caught our attention was the size. This is a compact compressor that we found was ideal for smaller tasks at home.


Even while being small, we liked the motor. It produces 2HP which is quite powerful for a tool of this size. The handle is conveniently placed for easy transportation. We found that the air compressor didn’t need to come with wheels as it could easily be carried.


However, we also found the cobra 10L air compressor to be quite noisy when running. The oil tank is not the best quality.


Read more
8

Draper Draper 24980 24L 230V 1.5KW Air Compressor Review

62%

The Draper comes with a 24 liter tank similar to the Wolf Air 24L Air Compressor. We liked how simple it was to transport and the construction is strong and looks durable. It also features a plastic case that covers the motor and unlike in the Wolf Air 24L Air Compressor, it is thick and strong.


The handle is conveniently placed and the wheels are strong and stable. We liked that they didn’t move on the hinges as we pulled the air compressor. Another thing that we found and liked is the thermal motor overload which prevented the motor from overheating.


On the other hand, we found the draper to be quite loud when running. The compressor also comes without any of the extra accessories such as the quick release connectors.


Read more
£112 from Amazon

*At the time of publishing the price was £112.00

Of
9

Stanley Stanley Portable Air Compressor Review

70%

We immediately liked the unique design of the Stanley air compressor. The handle was conveniently placed which made carrying the compressor super easy. For its size we found the motor to be quite efficient and provided enough pressure for most small tasks.


Another feature that caught our attention was the shoulder strap that made transporting the air compressor much simpler.


However, we found the Stanley to be a bit noisy. The 6L tank is also not the right size for some tasks as we found it to empty quite fast.


Read more
£86.65 from Amazon

*At the time of publishing the price was £132.53

last update July 25th 2018

We want our reviews to be the most up to date on the web. The most recent update to this page on July 25th 2018

One more review

Side By Side Comparison

  • by Wolf

    Wolf Dakota 90L Air Compressor Review

    Wolf Dakota 90L Air Compressor Review

    check pricing
  • by ParkerBrand

    ParkerBrand 50L Air Compressor Kit Review

    ParkerBrand 50L Air Compressor Kit Review

    check pricing
  • by Cobra

    Cobra Air Tools 50L Air Compressor Review

    Cobra Air Tools 50L Air Compressor Review

    check pricing
  • by SIP

    SIP (S.I.P) 06242 Airmate TN3.0/50-D Review

    SIP (S.I.P) 06242 Airmate TN3.0/50-D Review

    check pricing
  • by Clarke

    Bandit IV 8 Litre Air Compressor With Air Gun Kit

    Bandit IV 8 Litre Air Compressor With Air Gun Kit

    check pricing
  • by Wolf

    Wolf Air 24L Air Compressor Review

    Wolf Air 24L Air Compressor Review

    check pricing
  • by Cobra

    Cobra Air Tools 10L Air Compressor Review

    Cobra Air Tools 10L Air Compressor Review

    check pricing
  • by Draper

    Draper 24980 24L 230V 1.5KW Air Compressor Review

    Draper 24980 24L 230V 1.5KW Air Compressor Review

    check pricing
  • by Stanley

    Stanley Portable Air Compressor Review

    Stanley Portable Air Compressor Review

    check pricing

The 9 Best Air Compressors

What is Air Compressors?

This is a device that uses power from either electricity, a diesel engine or petrol engine to pump air into a storage tank. As more air is pumped in, the air compressor will reach its upper limit and shut. The air is stored as potential energy and can be utilized for a variety of functions. This is done by releasing the pressurized air and taking advantage of its kinetic energy.


What Are the Advantages and Disadvantages of Air Compressors?

Air compressors are versatile tools that can be used for a variety of functions from spraying paint to running pneumatic tools. They can also be used to fill up on the car’s wheel pressure.

Maintaining an air compressor is a simple task and requires very little effort and resources.

Thirdly, air compressors are mainly built to last and come with a durable design.

The main drawback of using an air compressor is the noise. These are quite noisy tools and can disturb the neighbors during use.


What’s the Approximate Price Range for Air Compressors?

Depending on the size, power and quality of the air compressor, prices range from £100 to over £11,000.


What Should I Look for When Choosing an Air Compressor?

The first thing to consider when buying an air compressor is the type of work you plan to use the device for as well as the environment. If you want to use it to power pneumatic tools at home such as a nail gun, then a small portable model is best.

If on the other hand you want it for professional use such as applying point or at the garage for working on cars, then a larger model with more power is preferable.

The power source is another important consideration. A gas-powered model is quite convenient as it can be used in any type of setting. However, they are also heavier. On the other hand, electric powered air compressors are lighter and easier to carry but can only be used when there is a power source.


Which is the Best Air Compressors? Why is it the best?

The Cobra air tools 50L air compressor is the best. It features a heavy-duty construction, large 50L tank and 2.5HP with a twin pressure gauge.


What Is the Best Air Compressor for Home Use? Why Is It the Best?

The Wolf Air 24-liter air compressor is the best for home use. It features a 2.5 HP motor is simple to move and is fully automatic.


What's the Best Air Compressor for Automotive? Why Is It the Best?

The OMORC digital tire inflator pump is the best air compressor for automotive. It is simple to use, has a high-quality construction and a long cable for easy access to all 4 car tires.


What Is the Best Air Compressor for Painting Cars? Why Is It the Best?

The ParkerBrand 50L air compressor and tool kit is the best for painting cars. It comes with a large 50L tank, has gauges for controlling the air pressure and a 9.6 CFM air displacement.


What Is the Best Air Compressor for Airbrushing? Why Is It the Best?

The Floureon AS18-2 airbrush compressor is the best. It produces little noise during use, and has thermal overload overheat protection which makes it highly reliable and durable.


What Is the Best Portable Compressor? Why Is It the Best?

The Stanley Portable 145 PSI air compressor is the best portable air compressor. It comes with a high-pressure capacity and features a shoulder strap for convenient carry.